Posted by: Rachael | August 26, 2010

Cupcake Wars!

So Sunday’s family BBQ definitely turned into a cupcake war!

If you know me, you know that I am obsessed with all things cupcakes. I love experimenting with different flavors, watching them bake, decorating them to the hilt, and of course, gobbling them up! Hey – I never said it was a healthy obsession =)

This weekend, my cousin and her hubby threw a BBQ party to celebrate their recent nuptials in Barbados, and of course I offered to bake up some cute cakes for their celebration. Not to be outdone, my mom decided to bake her own variety of island-inspired mini cakes to take to the party. Let the cupcake war begin!

There’s just something about baking cupcakes from scratch that is so satisfying…and to me, there is no better place to find a deliciously simple recipe than Ming Makes Cupcakes. Have you guys seen this website? It’s awesome – there are 33 different and completely unique cupcake recipes, each one more delicious than the next. What I love most is that the recipes make about 12-15 cupcakes per batch – so you could try out a couple different flavors and not be swimming in 60 cupcakes. Not that that’s a bad thing…

Mom and I both decided we needed to make flavors that were inspired by the Islands. I mean, the wedding was in Barbados after all. Plus, who doesn’t love something to remind them of sunshine and summertime, especially when the weather in Albany has been so grey and rainy! The finished products:

Hers: Coconut Rum Cupcakes with Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting, rolled in toasted coconut

Mine: Graham Cupcakes with Key Lime Frosting, rolled in graham cracker crumbs (a la Bakerella‘s Aloha cupcakes)

And the verdict?? Both of our cupcakes went over extremely well! It was pretty much a 50/50 split, with the chocolate-lovers fancying my mom’s cupcakes, and the fruit lovers firmly in my camp. The most surprising thing though was that none of the little kiddies at the BBQ liked them! I guess maybe their palates aren’t developed enough to enjoy flavors like coconut and key lime – it was hilarious to watch their faces contort and pucker when they had a taste of my icing. Oh well, neither my mom and I were above eating their leftover crumbs =)

Ahh how cute are these!! A little bit of island perfection! And so super simple to make!

Well, I’m off to spend the weekend with three of my best friends in a town called Luray in the Shenandoah valley. We’re going on a little “camping” trip (in quotes because in actuality, we’re staying in riverside cabins with hot tubs hehe) to celebrate the end of summer! I’ll be back next week with plenty of stories and pictures from our adventure…the weather is supposed to be perfect! Have a wonderful weekend all!

Responses

  1. I have an obesession with cupcakes as well, although my wasteline doesn’t appreciate that. 😉 The ones you made are adorable!
    I found your blog via Heather, so glad there’s another local blogger around. 🙂

  2. Hi Jen!! I’m so excited to hear about all you local bloggers! And yes – cupcakes are the best! I make them for every occasion – I swear I spend more time decorating cupcakes than people do eating them! =)


Leave a Reply

Categories

