Posted by: Rachael | September 28, 2010

Houston, we have a nut butter problem!

Ok, so I think I’ve *maybe* mentioned before that I have an apple and peanut butter almost every day for breakfast. What can I say, it’s boring, but I LOVE it. It’s not that I don’t love other breakfasts too- I am obsessed with eggs and all forms of oats – but there is something I absolutely love about PB & apples in the morning. I think the combination is the only thing that keeps me going all day long AND I swear it wakes me up almost as much as my morning coffee!!

Given my love of this wonderful bfast staple, it’s no surprise that I have tried my share of nut butters. In fact, I consider myself something of a nut butter connoisseur…I’ve tried as many varieties as I can get my hands on. I buy them at grocery stores, farmers markets, online after reading about them on other blogs…yada yada yada. I’ve realized recently that I don’t even think about how many different kinds of nut butters I’ve purchased over the last several months…I just buy what looks or sounds good to me! Today however, I decided to take an inventory of my nut butter stock. I really only have one thing to say….

Oh. my. God. Houston, we have a nut butter problem. And I thought I needed a Whole Foods intervention! Here’s the breakdown of what I currently have in stock:

  • Justin’s honey almond butter
  • Justin’s chocolate almond butter
  • Justin’s choco hazelnut, choco peanut, and honey almong butter squeeze packs
  • Saratoga PB New York Maple
  • Saratoga PB Adirondack Jack
  • Naturally Nutty white chocolate coconut peanut butter
  • Naturally Nutty butter toffee peanut butter
  • Barney butter packets
  • Trader Joe’s sunbutter
  • Hannaford brand peanut butter
  • PB&Co Dark Chocolate Dreams
  • Old Tyme honey roasted peanut butter

Phew…I think that’s it. And by IT, I mean I have enough product to stock a small supermarket. Now, I’m not an economist, but I’m guessing that is close to $100 dollars (or more) of nut butter! Wow, no wonder I have been strapped for cash recently!! This is clearly where all my money goes. But, considering how delicious these babies are, can you really blame me!? Please tell me someone out there does the same thing…I know hope I’m not alone out there!

You may wonder – since I clearly have tried every nut butter on the planet – which of these babies is my favorite. Well, after all the different types, textures, brands and varieties I have tasted, my hands down favorite nut butter of all time is (drumroll please) Saratoga Peanut Butter Company‘s Adirondack Jack. This beauty is a delicious blend of almond and peanut butter with dried cranberries, flax seeds, sunflower seeds, cinnamon, and honey thrown in the mix. The perfect combination of nutty, crunchy, sweet and flavorful. Honestly, this stuff can cost up to $13 in the stores around here (I stock up at the farmers market where it’s $10) but I would gladly pay more. It’s that good. The same goes for all of their other flavors as well. No matter how many different kinds I’ve tried, I just keep coming back for more. Lucky for you, it’s available online through their website for those of you who don’t live in upstate New York! I suggest you go get some immediately! It does not disappoint!

Wow…this is sad. So sad that I realized I must stop my insane nut butter purchasing behavior before I am completely broke. But not before I leave you with a recipe of my own! You see, it’s actually more economical to buy the ingredients for nut butters at home and make them yourself. It’s also nice because if you’re like me, you know what flavors you like in a nut butter and can experiment with different combinations and proportions of the ingredients you love. It’s probably one of the easiest things in the world to make too, as long as you have a food processor and a little patience!!

This was one of the first nut butters I ever made, and it’s easily my favorite. I recently tweaked the recipe a bit to make it extra delicious! If you have the time and love nut butters that are a little crunchy and a tad sweet – I guarantee this recipe will not let you down! Just follow these steps, and in 15min or less, you will have Cashew Crunch Butter!

First, meet the ingredients:

  • 1 cup raw, unsalted cashews
  • 1 cup roasted, unsalted peanuts
  • 6 large dates, chopped (small dice)
  • 1 T. golden flax seeds
  • Drizzle of honey

Don’t they sound delicious! Now, all you need to do is blend the cashews and peanuts together in your handy dandy food processor for about 10-15minutes until they are smooth. This may seem like a long time, but have faith – you’ll know when they’ve reached that perfect nut butter consistency! Next, add the rest of the ingredients (you can add more or less of each one to taste), and pulse a few more times to combine! And that’s it! Minimal effort for a delicious result. It makes me want to run to my kitchen and whip up a batch right now for my morning brekkie! Or maybe I should check myself and finish what I have on hand first! Yeah….baby steps.

P.S. Thank the good lord I am NOT allergic to nuts. It’s clear I would not survive.

Responses

  1. LOL! I thought *I* had a lot of nut butters!!!!

    Jen
    http://jenslosinit.blogspot.com/

    • I hope this makes you feel better about your own nut butter collection! =)

  2. I always say thank goodness I’m not allergic to nuts! I would go crazy! You do have a lot of nut butters but it’ll all get eaten eventually so I don’t really think of it as wasting money lol

    • Great point!! It all ends up in my tummy eventually!

  3. […] you know from past posts, I’m something of a peanut butter hoarder. A while back, I bought a few jars of naturally nutty peanut butter because I’d heard such […]

  4. […] peanut butter for breakfast every morning. no i’m not OCD. i just happen to love apples and peanut butter THAT […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

