Posted by: Rachael | October 17, 2010

My favorite beer in the world

I’m a beer-loving kinda girl. Always have been, always will be. In college, I was that girl who didn’t mind actually liked drinking Beast during games of flip cup and beer pong at Richmond apartment parties. I know, I know…who am I. In fact, now that I think about it, I don’t think I’ve ever met a beer I didn’t like.  This weekend however, I discovered my favorite beer ever. Bold statement, I know, but this beer is amazingness in a glass.

Said beer was introduced into my life by this fine establishment:

Welcome to Wolff’s Biergarten, the German beer hall where we spent most of the summer watching World Cup games. This place is almost as awesome as the beer. I mean, what’s not to love about a firehouse-turned-bar where they serve the most delicious roasted brussel sprouts and encourage you to throw your peanut shells on the floor. Love.

A few weekends ago, Wolff’s hosted an Oktoberfest block party that was the perfect way to kick off fall. Instead of buying beer in the bar, they were dispensing beers from big tap trucks. Because I couldn’t pronounce any of the German beer names, I awkwardly ordered a wheat beer from “that tap with the black handle”. And thank goodness I did.

This mystery beer was crisp, fruity, refreshing and delicious. It was so good that I ended up having 4 instead of the original 1 I had planned for [oops]! Sometimes you gotta just roll with it.

Last night, we had plans to go out to the Biergarten again for a friend’s birthday. Oh, did I mention they give you a free glass cowboy boot full of beer on your big day? No? Yeah, well, it’s amazing.

Anyways, I knew my goal for the night would be to try and find out my mystery beer without having to sample everything they had on tap. I decided to take a stab in the dark and order the first beer listed under the “Wheat” category.

SUCCESS!! It was just as good as I remembered it, if not better. And now, my favorite beer also has a name! It’s Franziskaner Hefe-Weissbier from Germany. Now you see why I couldn’t remember and/or pronounce it – especially after my 4th one. According to the draft beer list on Wolff’s website, FHW Hefeweizen is crisp, refreshing, spicy and fruity with 5.0% ABV. Hey, that’s what she said!

By the way – the draft beers at Wolff’s come in three sizes: .3, .5, and 1 Liter. Naturally, all the girls in our group ordered the 1 Liter size [which ends up being about 3 beers, all for the low price of $11]! So what if all the guys in the bar looked at us like we were crazy. Who cares that my arm nearly broke as a result of holding this 10 pound glass and I was subsequently forced to drink with 2 hands for the rest of the night. When you love something enough to call it your favorite, all the rules go out the window!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

