Posted by: Rachael | December 18, 2010

Midnight Study Snacks

Hey guys! Hope you had a great week! Once again, I’ve been MIA for a while, but this is what happens when you’re studying for the biggest exam of your graduate school career!

This Monday, I’ll be sitting for my comprehensive chronic disease epidemiology exam, a 9-5 full-day test all about the biology and distribution of diabetes, heart disease, and cancer. Sounds scary huh? Well, it is. In order to move on in my PhD program and start working on my dissertation research, I’ve got to ace this bad boy with flying colors. Needless to say, studying has totally consumed my life for the past couple of months!

The one positive thing about all this cramming studying is that I’ve been able to get a bunch of holiday baking done! It’s the perfect activity to use as a study break – I simply mix up a batch of my favorite cookies or treats when I need a 5 second breather, and then can get right back to hittin the books while they bake!

Last night while I was reviewing the inflammatory triggers of acute myocardial infarction [don’t ask], I decided it was time to whip up a little treat for myself. There’s nothing that’ll help you get through 500 pages of review notes quicker than a little energy from a sweet treat – am I right?

Luckily, I had all the fixins to throw together a quick batch of flourless peanut butter bite cookies, adapted from Julie’s delicious recipe! I even cut out a bit of the sugar so I felt a little better about having them as a midnight snack!

In the mix:

  • 1 cup of truvia sugar substitute
  • 1 cup of peanut butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 T of dark cocoa powder

Instead of plain jane peanut butter, I used a whole jar of this bad boy:

As you know from past posts, I’m something of a peanut butter hoarder. A while back, I bought a few jars of naturally nutty peanut butter because I’d heard such great things about it in the blog world, but I wasn’t a big fan. For some reason, I find it too sweet to just spread it on my morning apple for breakfast – but I had an inclination it would be PERFECT for this recipe! Boy was I right….white chocolate coconut peanut butter cookies?!?! Yes please!

After mixing up all the ingredients, you just roll them into balls and space them out on a parchment-lined cookie sheet. They were surprisingly easy to roll out – no hand stickage at all!

Then, just bake at 350° for 10-11 min! That’s it! Talk about instant gratification in a snack!

Mmmmm delicious, light, fluffy and just the perfect amount of sweetness. I have a feeling that these will be accompanying me on Monday to my test! That is unless I eat them all between now and then!

Even if you don’t have an excuse for midnight snackage, I suggest you go make these now! You won’t be disappointed.

Responses

  1. […] the midnight snack I made myself yesterday? Well, last night, I outdid […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

