Posted by: Rachael | December 19, 2010

Procrastination Station

Choo choo….

Yes, that’s the sound of the procrastination train pulling into the station. I love how I can’t find time to blog for two weeks straight, and now that my exam is TOMORROW, I suddenly have a gazillion things to say.

Another thing about this exam….it’s seriously cramping my usual healthy eating habits. I rarely eat dinner past 5:30pm so I have no clue where these late night cravings are coming from. I really need Monday to be over with – not just for my own sanity, but for my waistline’s sake as well.

Remember the midnight snack I made myself yesterday? Well, last night, I outdid myself:

Yes, those would be Jenna’s mom’s sweet and spicy BBQ baked beans.  Why would I want to snack on a bite-sized cookie when I can stuff my face full of warm, buttery, spicy white beans and kale? I don’t have an answer for that. [side note: ummm, Jenna’s mom…can I come over for dinner! these were amazing!]

I followed Jenna’s recipe to the T, but I had a legit pound of cherry tomatoes on hand that needed to be used up, so into the pot they went! I threw a few handfuls in just before popping this bad boy in the oven to bake. Also, for the BBQ sauce I went with this pantry staple:

Rawrrrr. If you’re from upstate New York, you know just how good Dinosaur BBQ is. Their Mojito BBQ sauce is my absolute favorite [it’s amazing on chicken] and it was perfect in this recipe. And the nutritionals and ingredients are great too!

I think I’m going to go fix myself a heaping bowl for lunch right now. And then I’m going back to studying. No really I mean it…

Responses

  1. I want to try Dinosaur BBQ sauce SOOOOOOOOOOOOOO badly! YUM!

    • OMG you have to Heather! It’s so delicious! Hope the cookie exchange went well – sorry I missed it! Happy holidays!

  2. […] my highly successful attempt to recreate Jenna’s sweet and spicy BBQ baked beans for a midnight snack last weekend (I have been eating them religiously for lunch every day if that tells you […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

