Posted by: Rachael | March 26, 2011

deep dish chickpea pizza

Oh my blog…how I have missed you. The craziness of my work, school and home life these past few weeks has gotten the better of me.  But I will do my best to make it up to you with a really delicious recipe!

luc-600013

Meet Faranita, aka chickpea frittata flour. This is quite possibly the most amazing product I have encountered at the grocery store in quite some time. I found this particular brand – Cinque e’ Cinque by Lucini – at the Fresh Market in Latham.

Those who know me know I have a slight obsession with pizza. And by slight, I mean I can put away an entire pie in under 30 minutes (if you think I am joking, just ask my coworkers). I was in the mood for pizza this week, but not the usual guilt that comes with it. Seriously, I know what they say about everything in moderation, but pizza is like Pringles for me. I can’t just have one slice. I decided that if I was determined to indulge this week, I’d have to make it a healthy pizza (considering the very real possibility that I ate the whole thing in one sitting).

Enter the chickpea frittata flour! A healthy (and may I add delicious) alternative to your typical pizza crust. All I did was cook the mix according to the directions on the back of the package, add some toppings I was craving at the time,  bake for a few extra minutes, and voila! The end result was amazing, and I have been eating devouring it for lunch every day since.

Seriously, go make this immediately. It won’t disappoint. And it’s pizza you can feel good about scarfing down like a madwoman. The recipe below is for the chicken sausage, spinach, and ricotta version that I made – it was to die for, but I can just imagine the endless possibilities here. Recreate this one or make your own and let me know how it turns out!

pizza

Deep Dish Chickpea Pizza

Serves 8

Ingredients:

  • 1 package Lucini Cinque e’ Cinque (traditional flavor)
  • 5 T olive oil
  • 3 cups water
  • 2 tsp. kosher salt
  • 1 large yellow onion, diced
  • 1 package of chicken sausage (I used the Al Fresco sundried tomato ones), diced
  • 1 small can (8oz.) tomato sauce
  • Italian seasoning/thyme/basil or any combination of dried herbs you like
  • 1 cup whole milk ricotta (not the kind you find in the yogurt section, but the real, fresh ricotta)
  • I huge handful of baby spinach

Directions:

Preheat oven to 500 degrees.

1. In a medium-sized soup pot, sauté the onion in 1 T olive oil over medium high heat until soft and golden, about 10 minutes.

2. Heat a second tablespoon of olive oil in a skillet over medium heat and add the diced chicken sausage. Cook until sausage starts to brown and is heated through thoroughly, about 10-15 minutes. Turn off heat and let rest in pan.

3. Add  the can of tomato sauce to the onion mixture, season with Italian seasoning, and cook at medium high heat until sauce is bubbling. Reduce heat to low and continue stirring regularly, letting the flavors develop.

4. Prepare Cinque e’ Cinque in a round, cast iron skillet according to the package directions (This is where you’ll use the last 3 T of olive oil, the salt, and the 3 cups of water). Bake at 500 degrees for 10-12 minutes. Then, open the oven door and bake for an additional 6 minutes until golden on top.

5. Remove the skillet from the oven and top with tomato sauce and onion mixture, spreading it in an even layer over the chickpea frittata like pizza sauce. Then top with 1 cup of ricotta using the same method. Finally, top with the chicken sausage. Return skillet to oven and bake for an additional five minutes.

6. Remove the skillet a second time, top with spinach, and return to the oven for a final 2-3 minutes.

7. Remove the skillet and let pizza rest on stovetop about 10 minutes until warm. Slice, serve, and ENJOY!

YummmmPizza

Leave a Reply

Categories

